Surrey FA 2022 Grassroots Football Award Winners Announced

Congratulations to our grassroots award recipients!

On Wednesday 24th August we held our first in live Grassroots Awards since 2019 at the Guildford Harbour Hotel. As we celebrated the heroes of our grassroots game, from volunteers, coaches, clubs, leagues and much more, whilst also recognising long-service awards for volunteers in the county of Surrey.

England Football & Grassroots Football Award Local Winners

The England Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference to grassroots football and is our way to celebrate and thank the fantastic individuals who go above and beyond across England.

The following individuals were selected as local winners for Surrey FA.

Award Recipients:

Kieran Djilali (Junior Elite FC) - Grassroots Coach of the Year Youth, Winner

Darren Buckley (Hersham FC) - Grassroots Coach of the Year, Highly Commended 

Faisal Khurshid (Woking & Maybury FC) - Grassroots Coach of the Year Adult, Winner

Christina Philippou (Onslow Ladies) - Grassroots Coach of the Year Adult, Highly Commended 

Guildford Saints FC - Grassroots Club of the Year, Winner

Churt Girls - Grassroots Club of the Year, Highly Commended 

Surrey Primary League - Grassroots League of the Year, Winner 

Surrey County Women & Girls' League - Grassroots League of the Year, Highly Commended 

Paul Judge (Elstead Sharks FC) - Grassroots Volunteer of the Year, Winner 

Lee Maidens (Guildford Saints FC) - Grassroots Volunteer of the Year, Highly Commended 

Steve Worsley - Match Official of the Year, Winner

Jason Lidbetter - Match Official of the Year, Highly Commended 

Martyn Grove & Matt Kiley (Hambledon) - Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year, Winner 

Manorcroft United JFC - Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year, Highly Commended

Anand Karia (Hersham FC & Football For All League) - Rising Star of the Year, Winner

Sophie Hollis (Inspire Girls Football) - Rising Stat of the Year, Highly Commended

Colin Gates (Charlwood Village FC) - Spirit of Grassroots Football, Winner

Pawel Wozniak (Wisla Krakow UK London) - Spirit of Grassroots Football, Highly Commended

Diane Marsh Frimley (Green Boys and Girls FC) - Club Welfare Officer of the Year

Nicola Brown (Epsom & Ewell Colts) - Inspire: The Female Football Award


Long Service Awards

We also celebrated our longstanding volunteers and clubs who have reached important milestones.



15 years

Karen Bailey (Surrey County Women and Girls League)

Mark Broad (Badshot Lea FC)

Graham Greensmith (Surrey Youth League)

Michael Lawrence (County Member)

Malcom Randall (County Member)

Sue Aspinwall (County Member)

Peter Croucher (AFC Brooklands FC)

Tony Newman (County Member)

Jez Taylor (AFC Brooklands FC)


25 years

Lew Block (Thornton Heath Wanderers FC)

Brian Carroll (County Member)

Colin Gates (Charlwood Village FC)

Jeff Martin (Mordern & District Sunday FL)

JF Burford (Kew Park Rangers FC & Surrey Youth League)

Barrie Hogan (County Member)

Dave Letley (County Member)


35 years

Dermot Hennessy (County Member)

Barrie Hogan (Godalming & Farncombe Athletic FC)

Ken Johnson (Curley Park Rangers FC)

David Lomax (Surrey Youth League)

Bob Jones (Redhill and District Sunday FL)

Mike Jermey (County Member)

Frank Thompson (Surrey Youth League)


45 Years

Brian Brackpool (County Member)

Bryan Cole (County Member)

John Owen (County Member)

Mike Hallett (Cambford FC, Stoneleigh Park FC, Kingston & District FL)


FA 50 Year Award

Brian Brackpool (Services to football)

Bryan Cole (Referee and County Member)

Derek Davis (Windlesham United FC)

Mike Short (Modern & District Sunday FL)

Alan Gardiner (Services to football)

John Grogan (Abbey Rangers FC)



100 years

Virginia water FC

Chessington & hook united fc

Woodmansterne hyde fc

Surrey county intermediate league


125 years

Camberley Town FC

Horley town fc

Kingston & District FL

Nutfield FC

Shalford FC

Ashtead FC
South Park FC

Walton & Hersham FC

Warlingham FC


150 Years

Reigate Priory FC