Sunday Premier

AFC Hammersmith Town Prevail In Feisty Sunday Premier Cup Final

AFC Hammersmith beat Wandgas Seniors 4-1 at Meadowbank Stadium on Wednesday the 17th of April

An eventful Sunday Premier Cup Final saw AFC Hammersmith beat Wandgas Seniors 4-1 at Meadowbank Football Ground. 

The opening 15 minutes were rather scrappy as both teams tried to stamp their authority on the game. Numerous fouls broken any sort of momentum that either side would have and chances were at a premium early on.

However, Hammersmith had started to build some attacks together and would break the deadlock in the 23rd minute through Jordan Ikala. His great initial first touch allowed him to get a shot off, which had too much power for the keeper. Their focus may have dropped slightly after the opener as from the kick-off Wandgas would have a great opportunity to level the scores. Jack Verrills’ effort beat Hammersmith keeper Power-Simpson but would agonisingly go over the bar. 

Verrills would have another great opportunity to level the scores after receiving an inch-perfect pass from Craig Mullen minutes later. He forced a great save from Power-Simpson who tipped the ball around the post. But Wandgas were slowly beginning to get on top. From the resulting corner the keeper once again was called into action but was able to deal with the attack. It seemed as if Hammersmith were beginning to think about getting into the half with their lead still intact. 

Despite all the Wandgas pressure in the final few minutes of the first half, they couldn’t find the breakthrough and would go into the half 1-0 down but the game was far from over. 

Hammersmith started the second half fast and would double their lead in the 47th minute through Tobi Falodi who cooly slotted the ball home. The goal came somewhat against the run of play and Wandgas now seemed up against it with a two-goal deficit to overturn. 

They found their way back into the game rather quickly with a Jack Verrills’ deflected header that went past the keeper. With just under 40 minutes to be played it was very much once again game on. Goalscorer Verrills would however turn from hero to villain just 15 minutes later after committing a reckless two-footed challenge and he was duly sent his marching orders by referee Harry Yellen. After all their hard work to get back into the game, Wandgas would shoot themselves in the foot and sadly it wouldn’t be the last time. 

In the 72nd minute Nathan Mampomo was brought down in the box with a penalty rightfully awarded. Up stepped Tobi Falodi but he would see his penalty saved by Wangas keeper Stuart Bradshaw. That save could’ve well turned the game on it’s head but disaster would once again strike in the seniors’ back line when another Town player was brought down in the box when through on goal. 

This time it would be Mampono who stepped up, and he would make no mistake from the spot, regaining Hammersmith’s two goal lead in the process. 

At this point, the ten men of Wandgas were looking rather tired and were allowing their opposition a fair few opportunities. In the 89th minute, Kuame Pamboe would put an end to the game, clinically finishing when one on one with the keeper, making the score 4-1 in the process and that’s how things would end in an action-packed final. 

Goals: (Hammersmith Town) Ikala (23), Falodi (47), Mampono (74), Pamboe (89) 
      (Wandgas Seniors) Verrills (52) 


Match Officials: 

Referee: Harry Yellen 
Assistant Referee: Elle Kaplicz 
Assistant Referee: Jason Lidbetter 
Fourth Official: Adam Absolon  

Wandgas Seniors: Alfie Kitchener, Billy Verrills, Matthew Ferdinando, Taylor Wells, Joe Payne, Richard Stabler, Jacob Miller, Matthew Cornish, Michael Paxman, Jake Bowman, Stuart Bradshaw, Paul Nichols, Scott Fullerton, Mark Deacons, Craig Mullen, Jack Verrills, Daniel May, Sergio Figueiredo  

Hammersmith Town: Michael Power-Simpson, Prospero Keto, Tobi Falodi, Jubrill Kazeem, Idowu Gbolagade, Stephan Langley, Zak Mohamed, Meron Abraham, Sean Ndinga-Basaye, Kristian Belousas, Jordan Ikala, Kuame Pamboe, Nathan Mampono, Azeez Elegushi, Javin Douglas, Keyarn Cope-Chase, Ta’Shae Andall-Gibbons, Arian Maleknia  

Images of the game can be viewed and purchased by following the link below.