Surrey FA Referee Awards 23

Surrey FA Referee Awards Ceremony

The event celebrated long-serving match officials and those who have been appointed to our County Cup finals

This week we acknowledged our referees, who have given so much to grassroots football, at a dedicated awards ceremony, held at the Harbour Hotel in Guildford.

The awards, hosted by Sutton United CEO and Vice-Chairman, Adrian Barry, gave recognition to those who have reached 15, 25, 35 or 50 years of service as well as the match officials who have been awarded appointments for this season’s adult County Cup finals.

We were delighted to be joined by Premier League and FIFA Referee, David Coote, and Premier League and FIFA Assistant Referee, Daniel Cook, who presented our long-serving Referees with their awards and congratulated each of our County Cup Referees respectively.

Both also held an interactive workshop session focusing on teamwork and the importance of communication at all levels of football, before taking questions from the floor on their careers, offering valuable advice for our grassroots match officials.

We also welcomed National Referee Manager for The FA, Ed Duckworth, who closed our evening with an inspirational segment on how hard work is key to success and reminded us how everyone, from mentors to observers, are key to developing the next generation of Referees.

Speaking on the night, Surrey FA Referee Development Officer, Craig Hicks, said:

"It is brilliant to see our Referees joining us for this special evening of recognition. The importance of honouring them for the service they have given to the game is something we continue to acknowledge season after season."

Long Service Awards Winners:

15 Years

Matthew Leary

Lucy Clark

Miroslaw Matlak

Michael Coen

Elimon Chimbima

Neil Rolland

Mark Blythe

John Lowe

Anthony Smith

Timothy Saunders

Richard Garland

Wayne Ingram

Robert Dick


25 Years

Michael Sillett

Alan Watkins

Howard Groves

Gary Taylor

Alan Hodge

James Whitmarsh

Rodney Van Niekerk

Barry Lynch

Vincent Penfold

David Osborn

Antony Price


35 Years

Martin Allen

Keith Slaughter

Bruce McLaren

Robin Johnson-Paul

Philip Paice

Stephen Worsley


50 Years

David Crick

Kenneth Murray

Philip Whatling

David Hutchinson

Philip Jones


Find out our County Cup Appointments by following the link below:

County Cup Final Appointments