Womens Flexible League Group Shot

Women's Flexible League Finals

The inaugural season of the Women’s Flexible League finished in dramatic style last week.

The first season of the Women’s Flexible League came to a close at Meadowbank Football Ground with Reigate Women FC Lionesses running out as champions.

It was set for a photo finish going into final day, with three teams all still in the race for the title. After the first round of fixtures, this was then reduced to only two teams left to potentially win the league; Reigate Women FC Lionesses and Reigate Women FC Panthers. Coincidentally, these two teams were to play each other in the final game so it was to be a shootout for the title.

It was Reigate Women FC Lionesses who claimed the Women’s Flexi League trophy, running out 3-1 winners in a tight game.

The league consisted of 9 teams which were; Reigate Women FC Lionesses, Reigate Women FC Panthers, Reigate Women FC Tigresses, Sheen Mounties, Kingswood Ladies, Palace Pumas Caterham, ESPS Phoenix, Lyne FC Ladies & Woking Diamonds.

The season commenced in November with fixtures taking place on the 2nd Sunday of each month. The sides were given contact details of their opponents and left to arrange their own fixture times and referee appointments.

The final two rounds of league fixtures were arranged to be hosted at Surrey FA Headquarters, Meadowbank Football Ground and the day itself consisted of each team playing two 7-a-side fixtures (apart from two teams who only had 1 fixture remaining) against each other to top off a fantastic debut season for the Women’s Flexible League.

We are looking to start the second season as early as September. If you feel like you could be interested in joining with a team then please contact Dominic.Belcher@SurreyFA.com.