Charter Standard


what is charter standard

The FA Charter Standard programme was launched in February 2001 to establish, reward and encourage good practice at the grassroots levels, so that parents and children can demand a minimum standard of provision from schools, clubs and holiday courses. Surrey FA have over 150 affiliated clubs that have the Charter Standard kite mark and numerous leagues across all 15 boroughs in Surrey.

The project is at the heart of The Football Association's investment programme for grassroots football and the status is awarded where The FA’s minimum standards of coaching, administration and child protection are met.

aims of charter standard programme

The Charter Standard programme aims to:

• Provide a nationally recognised quality control kite mark
• Identify clubs and organisations where best practices exist
• Improve the quality of provision of football for everyone
• Sustain participation of football players for a longer time
• Raise the standards of grassroots football

why become charter standard

There are numerous benefits to becoming Charter Standard. The below is just a selection of these benefits:

• Access to the McDonald’s FA Charter Standard Kit Scheme to receive one free Nike team kit each season for U7s to U16s teams
• Free tickets (upon application) for England youth and women’s internationals
• Invitations to local in-service events
• Access to administrative support sessions
• Support with funding applications

New FA Charter Standard Clubs will also receive:

• An official FA plaque and certificate
• Resources to help promote the club
• £100 worth of official FA Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Youth and Adult Clubs)
• £150 worth of official FA Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Development Clubs)
• £200 worth of official FA Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Community Clubs)
• Opportunity to become a Nike Partner Club (FA Charter Standard Development and Community Clubs)

Overall, FA Charter Standard status is a clear demonstration to all parents, sponsors and the public, that a club or league:

• Is well-organised, safe and offers opportunities for all
• Has FA-qualified coaches as standard
• Adheres to FA Respect Policies and Codes of Conduct
• Prioritises Child Welfare
• Maintains appropriate levels of discipline
• Has access to the County FA and FA regional workforces

find out more become charter standard

There are 4 levels of Charter Standard status and Surrey FAs dedicated Football Development Team are on hand to help your club and league reach all 4 of these levels. The 4 levels are dependent on the size and ambition of your league or club but our Football Development team are experienced and dedicated to helping you with questions on the Charter Standard programme.

Click here for the contact details of the Surrey FA Football Development team. If you need to know more about the programme and how your club or league can attain Charter Standard status (at all 4 levels) then please contact the Surrey FA Football Development Officer that looks after your borough.

Still need more information on the Charter Standard programme? Click here to be redirected to The FAs official help page on Charter Standard.

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details

Facebook Stream Facebook Stream